Electronic dance

Duckwrth is back with a new project, “CHROME BULL” – HotNewHipHop

Duckwrth can do it all: his hits include rap bangers, smooth R&B and now Kaytranada-style house jams. The rapper and singer-songwriter from South Central, California has released a new eight-track project for the fans: CHROME BULL. Compared to his previous work as 2020’s “SuperGood,” this new album is very danceable, with a lot of emphasis on house grooves, deep kicks, funky basslines, and woozy synth work. He also released music videos for the album tracks “Power Power” with Shaun Ross and “Ce Soir” with Syd of internet fame.

Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Album features also include vocalists CLAY and GAWD. These make for fine vocal performances on the album that continue to expand the project’s sonic palette, from Syd’s understated verse on “Ce Soir,” to CLAY’s soaring proclamations on “Beg,” and finally GAWD’s soulful delivery. on “Pray”. Duckwrth’s own presence on his album is quite varied, overlapping those bops with rap verses, R&B tracks, or a mix of the two. There’s a joy and charisma that matches the 33-year-old’s quirky style, but it’s never been more palpable than against the backdrop of a disco ball-lit dance floor.

Speaking of this dance, CHROME BULL also features different takes on the house formula that keep the meager track list from falling too deep into deja vu and repetition. The album begins with simple bop house courtesy of “11:30”, but by the time we reach “Sneaky”, the album lets its slight dancehall influences take on more emphasis. “Super Saiyan” is a darker synth-pop jam that has a very subtle 80s tinge to it, “Pray” is heavily inspired by drum ‘n bass beats, and “Power Power” featuring Shaun Ross adds heavy, bassy funk to the mix. mix to wink at techno music.

From his 2021 single “4K” and his feature on TeaMarr’s “Specific,” it seems like Duckwrth is working with more upbeat and faster sounds these days. No matter which side of his art and talent you appreciate the most, CHROME BULL has some fire trails for you. You can find the new house project on your favorite streaming service and check out its tracklist and streaming links below.

Track list

  1. *Beautiful
  2. 11:30 a.m.
  3. Tonight (feat. Syd)
  4. Sly
  5. super saiyan
  6. Pray (feat. CLAY)
  7. Pray (feat. GAWD)
  8. Power Power (feat. Shaun Ross)