Electronic song

Iggy Pop stars on “Post Punk,” the new single from The Crystal Method & Hyper

The crystal method (who is Scott Kirkland) have teamed up with pioneering British breakbeat producer Hyper for a unique single – “Post Punk” featuring legendary Stooges frontman Iggy Pop. ‘Post Punk’ will appear on The Crystal Method’s seventh studio album The trip scheduled for release April 15, 2022 on Ultra Records.

The brooding, mid-tempo “Post Punk” was produced alongside longtime Crystal Method ally Hyper (Guy Hatfield). From TCM vs Hyper single “Fire To Me” which appeared on the London film’s soundtrack to his remix of the TCM classic “Busy Child”, the acclaimed cinematic sound designer – whose recent credits include music for games and screens (Cyberpunk 2077, “Orange Is The New Black”) – enters the studio with The Crystal Method for a progressive and spellbinding album.

Borrowing a soundbite from Jim Jarmusch’s documentary Gimme Danger about the Stooges, the track is built on distorted synths and heavy drums, while Iggy Pop, in his characteristic gravelly voice, asserts his individuality. “I don’t want to be a punk. I don’t want to belong to any of that,” he says. “I just want to be.”

Listen now here: https://ffm.to/post-punk
Watch the video here: https://youtu.be/1Y8IterotF4

A sequel to the successes of 2018 The return journey– which took fans on a nostalgic and sonic journey – The Trip Out finds Kirkland looking to the future and embarking on collaborations with some of today’s most exciting and musically diverse artists. Primarily written in 2020, the album loosely focuses on the idea of ​​escapism – a timely theme amid a year of closed venues, canceled tours and global shutdowns. Alongside “Post Punk,” the album will include previously released singles “House Broken” featuring Naz Tokio” and “Act Right” featuring Billy Dean Thomas and VAAAL.

The full track list for The Crystal Method’s The Trip Out, set for release April 15th on Ultra Records, is as follows:

“Look at Me Now” featuring Koda and VAAAL
“House Broken” with Naz Tokyo
“Let’s Trip Out” featuring King Green
“Chemical Mentalist” with Wednesday
“Free game”
“Act Right” featuring Billy Dean Thomas and VAAAL
“Friction” featuring Future Funk Squad and Jim Davies
The Crystal Method & Hyper “Post Punk” with Iggy Pop

About the Crystal method:
Originally formed in Las Vegas in the early 90s by co-founders Scott Kirkland and Ken Jordan (now retired), The Crystal Method are one of America’s most successful electronic bands. Pioneers of the big beat genre and innovators of the electronic movement of the 90s, The Crystal Method have remained at the forefront of the global dance music industry for over two decades.

The Crystal Method celebrates a career spanning more than 25 years in the music scene, which has culminated in an extensive discography that includes: the platinum disc Vegas (1997), the group’s first studio album and one of the best-selling albums to the world by an all-time American electronic artist; Tweekend (2001); Legion of Boom (2004) and Divided by Night (2009), both of which received GRAMMY nominations for Best Electronic/Dance Album; and The Crystal Method (2014). The Trip Home – released in 2018 – was The Crystal Method’s sixth full-length album and Kirkland’s first as a new solo act. Its sequel The Trip Out will be released on April 15, 2022.

As The Crystal Method, Kirkland’s music and creative output also extends to film and television, where his credits include: the theme song to the hit Fox TV show Bones; the music for the independent film London; composing all of the music for the JJ-Abrams-produced Fox television drama, Almost Human; the film score for the 2017 documentary Hired Gun: Out of the Shadows, Into the Spotlight; and the theme song for 3 Below, the Netflix TV series from Oscar winner Guillermo del Toro, as well as additional music writing and Netflix’s final move title Trollhunters – Rise of the Titans.

About HYPER:
Broadcasting music since 2005, the multi-award-winning leader of devastating sound design HYPER has toured the globe, playing at every major festival from Glastonbury to Fuji Rock. He is singularly focused on producing and creating high-end, polished soundtracks encompassing full orchestral pieces with dramatic instrumentation and the very latest electronic crossover. HYPER’s approach to music curation is to create the defining moment of inspired sound that enhances cinematic content, translating that moment into a lasting sensory memory for the consumer. You can find HYPER’s industry-approved music among some of the most popular TV shows (including “Orange is the New Black” and “The Leftovers”), cinematic tentpole ad campaigns such as ” Blade Runner 2049,” and is the producer behind the iconic trailer soundtrack for “Cyberpunk 2077,” Projekt Red’s upcoming hit video game. www.djhyper.com

James Newell Osterberg Jr., known professionally as Iggy Pop, is an American musician, singer, and songwriter. Called the “godfather of punk”, he was the singer and lyricist of the proto-punk group The Stooges, formed in 1967.

He had a long collaborative and personal friendship with David Bowie over the course of his career, beginning with the Stooges’ 1973 album Raw Power. Pop began his solo career collaborating with Bowie on the 1977 albums The Idiot and Lust. for Life, with Pop usually contributing the lyrics. Throughout his career, he is well known for his outrageous and unpredictable antics, poetic lyrics and distinctive voice.