Electronic song

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard announce ‘Butterfly 3001’ remix album, share singles


Stream “Neu Butterfly” (Peaches Remix) and “Shanghai” (The Scientist Dub).

By Andy Kahn Dec 6 2021 • 2:09 p.m. PST

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard will release a remix album, Butterfly 3001, via their KGLW label on January 21. The group shared a pair of singles, “Neu Butterfly” (Peaches Remix) and “Shanghai” (The Scientist Dub).

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard released 10 tracks Butterfly 3000 earlier this year. The remix album features new song sequencing as well as multiple versions of the same track reimagined by different artists. In addition to Peaches and The Scientists, those who contributed to the remixes include DJ Shadow, The Flaming Lips, DāM-FunK, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Confidence Man and Terry cloth tracksuit among others.

“We’ve been delaying doing a remix album for a long time,” the band said. Joey walker declared. “Maybe it was conscious, maybe not. But it’s happening now. It doesn’t mean that Butterfly 3000 makes the most sense to remix. It may sound obvious, but it is not. Yes it is electronic. But a refrigerator too. Have you tried to dance on Butterfly? It’s hard. It ties your laces together. It is duplicate in its simplicity. But Butterfly 3001 develops this. It deflects and erases too. We are honored that such esteemed people are working on these songs. We hope you like this album as much as we do. See you at DA CLUB !!! ”

Veteran dance producer Peaches shared a statement regarding the Butterfly 3000 remix of the title song, which was called “Neu Butterfly 3000”:

“[I] wanted to make this remix sound like a lizard. Slippery and dry scaly mooring. Something that wiggles through wide open spaces… with slits for eyeballs…. And dancing.

Famous dub reggae producer The Scientist commented on his version of “Shanghai”, saying

“I’ve always liked being able to apply my dub mixing techniques to music outside of the typical ‘reggae mold’. KGLW’s music, and in particular the song “Shanghai”, provided the perfect backdrop for me to be able to create something rich and sonically exciting for the listener. KGLW fans and dub-reggae fans will enjoy this song very much.

Listen to “Neu Butterfly” (Peaches Remix) and “Shanghai” (The Scientist Dub) below:

Neu Butterfly (Peach Remix)

Shanghai (The Scientist Dub)

Butterfly 3001 List of tracks

  1. Black Hot Soup (rewrite of “My Own Reality” by DJ Shadow)
  2. Shanghai (The Scientist Dub)
  3. Shanghai (Deaton Chris Anthony Remix)
  4. Dreams (Yu Su Instrumental Mix)
  5. Blue Morpho (Donato Dozzy Remix)
  6. Blue Morpho (VRIL Remix)
  7. Blue Morpho (Ciel’s Fluttering Dub)
  8. Blue Morpho (remix of ZANDOLI II)
  9. Catching Smoke (DāM-FunK Instrumental Re-Freak)
  10. Ya Love (Fascinating Flaming Lips Haircut Redesign)
  11. Ya Love (Geneva Jacuzzi Remix)
  12. Ya Love (Héctor Oaks playing with Fire Mix)
  13. 2.02 Killer Year (Remix Fuck Mike Love by Bullant)
  14. Yours (Fred P Journey Mix)
  15. Butterfly 3000 (Terry Tracksuit Remix)
  16. Neu Butterfly 3000 (Peaches Remix)
  17. Catch the Smoke (4am Wack Rmx by the Hieroglyphic Being) *
  18. Blue Morpho (Mall Grab Remix) *
  19. Dreams (Peaking Lights Trancedellic Macrodosing Mix) *
  20. People Inside (Confidence Man Remix) *
  21. Catch the Smoke (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix) *

* available in digital version only

  • King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Postpone North American Tour To 2022

  • King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Extend 2022 World Tour

    King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Extend 2022 World Tour